The State of Florida Department of Health in Hernando County issues death certificates for the years 2009 to the present for those individuals who have passed away in the State of Florida. Death certificates for other years must be requested from the Jacksonville Office of Vital Statistics.
Death certificates with cause of death can be issued to the immediate family of the deceased or to a licensed funeral director. Cause of death information on death records over 50 years old is available to anyone completing an application and submitting the required fee.
A death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however there are some records on file at the State Office of Vital Statistics dating back to 1877.
To request a death record from the State Office of Vital Statistics in Jacksonville, phone (904)359-6900 or send a written request to:
Florida State Office of Vital StatisticsP.O. Box 210Jacksonville, FL 32231The Florida Department of Health
Include the following information
- Name of Deceased
- Date of Death
- Place of Death
- Funeral Home Establishment
- Relationship to decedent or reason for obtaining the certificate
Requirements to Issue a Death Certificate
WITHOUT Cause of Death
- Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a certified copy of a death record without the cause of death
WITH Cause of Death Information
- The applicant’s PICTURE ID (such as a valid driver’s license, state identification card, passport or military identification card).
- Photocopy of PICTURE ID is required for mailed-in applications
- Please note the applicant’s signature IS REQUIRED
- The applicant’s eligibility status (relationship to the decedent)
- The Decedent’s full name, date and place of death
- The applicant’s full name, address and telephone number(s)
WHO can be issued a Certificate with Cause of Death
- The decedent’s spouse or parent
- The decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age
- Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the decedent
- Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named persons
- $10.00 per copy (Effective November 1, 2008)
- $ 3.00 Protective Sleeve (Fits short form only)
- Walk-In applications fees are payable either in cash, VISA or Mastercard, personal check, money order or cashier’s check.
- Mailed-In applications fees are payable either by personal check, money order or cashier’s check only. (Please do not send cash by mail). Personal Checks/Money Orders/Cashier’s checks should be made payable to Hernando County Health Department.